Let's Trade Zines App

Main Forums General Discussion Let's Trade Zines App

This topic contains 13 replies, has 9 voices, and was last updated by  Emma Atkinson 2 months, 4 weeks ago.

Viewing 14 posts - 1 through 14 (of 14 total)
  • Author

Olivia M.
    Participant

Hey! I’m an amateur programmer and I’m in the process of developing an Android app for the zine community called Let’s Trade Zines. It won’t be like this site, as it will focus more on facilitating trades and one-on-one messaging rather than groups and forums. Features will include: profiles with username, location, age, gender, description, trades completed, trade ratings, zines likes, and zines made; profile search, one-on-one messaging and a message center showing messages received in order received, ability to follow other users to see when they post new zines, ability to suggest and open trades with other users, ability to rate a trade after 30 days or mark it incomplete, a page that lists your open and completed trades, and potentially more.

So far I’ve implemented about half of the app. I’ve got account creation, login, profiles, profile pic upload, messaging, a profile list, and the message center working. I’m currently working on expanding the profile list into a profile search and creating the system for trades. The feed of followed users will be something I work on last. I also need to implement profile editing, and the ability to delete messages. Account authentication and creation, the user database, and asset hosting are fulfilled by Google Firebase.

I’ve only been working on this project for a little over a week, and it’s my first Android app, but I think I’ve gotten pretty far. Luckily I have previous programming experience.

As I continue to finish the app I’ll post updates here.

Feel free to suggest features for the app or ask questions!

I hope to one day make an ios version of the app, but it costs $100 to start developing for ios, so maybe someday.

Quasifesto
    Keymaster